Overview of Atlassian tools operating options

linkyard supports several operational options for the Atlassian tools. In this article we introduce the different options.

Atlassian basically distinguishes between the following deployment variants:

  • Server
  • data centre
  • Cloud

The Server variant is intended for on-premise operation or at an IT service provider, whereby the system can only be operated on a single server at the same time. In the event of a system failure, an interruption is mandatory until a failover can take place. From a performance point of view, the system cannot be scaled arbitrarily to more users and slows down with increasing system load.

The Data Center variant is also intended for on-premise operation or at an IT service provider, whereby the system can be operated on a cluster with several nodes. The system can thus be operated with high availability and high scalability.

The Cloud version is reserved for operation by Atlassian.

Not all products are available in every variant. The following graphic shows the availability of the products per deployment variant.

app marketplace

An important concept is that most of Atlassian's applications can be extended by so-called apps. This gives other software vendors the opportunity to extend Atlassian's products. Atlassian operates the Atlassian Marketplace for this purpose. Also the plugins are provided depending on the deployment variant (server, data center, cloud), although not all variants are always supported. In addition, apps for the Atlassian Cloud often differ significantly from apps for servers and data centers, as they are technically implemented differently. We explain more about this in the article "Privacy in the Atlassian Cloud".

From our experience it is rather rare that a customer uses Jira or Confluence without any additional apps. Most customers have certain additional third party apps in use, depending on their specific use case.

Licenses and subscriptions

In terms of licensing, the Server variant is a licensing model. When a license is purchased, one-time licensing costs are incurred. From the second year, maintenance fees of more than 50% of the license price are charged. If the maintenance is not extended, you will not get access to new software versions or security patches released after the end of the maintenance period. However, the system usually continues to run after the maintenance period has expired. However, this does not always apply to third-party apps. Depending on the manufacturer's policy, these apps sometimes stop working.

For data center and cloud, subscriptions are purchased by the customer. Once the subscription expires, the software will no longer work and the subscription must be renewed in good time. In contrast to the server variant, subscriptions only have constant recurring costs. There are therefore no one-time additional costs for the initial license.

linkyard supports all operating models

We support our customers regardless of the chosen operating model and provide full service around the products, starting with consulting and customizing, training, software development and support. In the case of servers and data centers, we also offer operation as a managed service. A special feature of our Managed Service is that the customer can decide whether the operation of the service is based on linkyard infrastructure, on public cloud infrastructure or on specific private cloud infrastructure at the customer's premises or at one of the customer's data center providers.

Which variant is the right one?

Various aspects must be taken into account when choosing the operating model. These include considerations regarding interfaces to be implemented, security & compliance considerations, as well as the exact purpose and number of users. On the occasion of the abrupt end of the EU-U.S. Privacy Shields, we have separately highlighted the aspect of data protection in the Atlassian Cloud and in the linkyard operating models.

--

linkyard is a Gold Atlassian Solution Partner based in Switzerland and offers a full service around the products. In addition to product knowledge, linkyard offers proven expertise in the areas of management, project management (lean/agile and classic), security, compliance, risk management, requirements engineering or software architecture. linkyard is specialized in technically demanding integrations and customers with particularly high demands on information security and data protection. The information security management system of linkyard is certified according to ISO/IEC 27001:2013.

Übersicht über die Betriebsoptionen für Atlassian-Tools

linkyard unterstützt mehrere Betriebsoptionen für die Atlassian Tools. In diesem Artikel stellen wir die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten vor.

linkyard unterstützt mehrere Betriebsoptionen für die Atlassian Tools. In diesem Artikel stellen wir die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten vor.

Atlassian unterscheidet grundsätzlich die folgenden Deployment-Varianten:

  • Server
  • Data Center
  • Cloud

Die Variante Server ist für den on-premise Betrieb oder bei einem IT-Dienstleister gedacht, wobei das System nur auf einem einzigen Server gleichzeitig betrieben werden kann. Bei einem Systemausfall erfolgt dadurch zwingend ein Unterbruch, bis ein Failover stattfinden kann. Aus Sicht der Performance lässt sich das System nicht beliebig auf mehr User skalieren und wird mit steigender Systemlast langsamer.

Die Variante Data Center ist ebenfalls für den on-premise Betrieb oder bei einem IT-Dienstleister gedacht, wobei hierbei das System auf einem Cluster mit mehreren Nodes betrieben werden kann. Das System kann so hochverfügbar und hochskalierbar betrieben werden.

Die Variante Cloud ist für den Betrieb durch Atlassian vorbehalten.

Dabei sind nicht alle Produkte in jeder Variante erhältlich. Die nachfolgende Grafik zeigt die Verfügbarkeit der Produkte pro Deployment-Variante.

App Marketplace

Ein wichtiges Konzept ist, dass sich die meisten Applikationen von Atlassian durch sogenannte Apps erweitern lassen. Andere Software-Hersteller haben so die Möglichkeit, die Produkte von Atlassian zu erweitern. Atlassian betreibt dafür den Atlassian Marketplace. Auch die Plugins werden je nach Deployment-Variante (Server, Data Center, Cloud) bereitgestellt, wobei nicht immer alle Varianten unterstützt werden. Ausserdem unterscheiden sich Apps für die Atlassian Cloud oft deutlich von den Apps für Server und Data Center, da diese technisch anders realisiert werden. Mehr dazu erläutern wir auch im Artikel "Datenschutz in der Atlassian Cloud".

Aus unserer Erfahrung ist es eher selten, dass ein Kunde Jira oder Confluence ganz ohne weitere Apps nutzt. Die meisten Kunden haben je nach ihrem jeweiligen Anwendungsfall bestimmte zusätzliche Apps von Drittherstellern im Einsatz.

Lizenzen und Subscriptions

Bezüglich der Lizenzierung handelt es sich bei der Variante Server um ein Lizenzmodell. Beim Kauf einer Lizenz fallen einmalige Lizenzierungskosten an, ab dem zweiten Jahr fallen Wartungsgebühren über 50% des Lizenzpreises an. Wird die Wartung nicht verlängert, erhält man keinen Zugriff mehr auf neue Softwareversionen oder Security Patches, die nach dem Ende der Wartungsperiode veröffentlicht wurden. Das System läuft nach Ablauf der Wartung aber in der Regel weiter. Dies gilt jedoch nicht immer für Apps von Drittanbietern. Je nach Policy des Herstellers stellen diese Apps manchmal auch ihren Dienst ein.

Bei Data Center und Cloud werden vom Kunden Subscriptions erworben. Nach dem Ablauf der Subscription funktioniert die Software nicht mehr und die Subscription muss entsprechend rechtzeitig verlängert werden. Im Gegensatz zur Variante Server weisen Subscriptions nur gleichbleibende wiederkehrende Kosten auf. Es fallen also bei der Erstlizenzierung keine einmaligen Zusatzkosten an.

linkyard unterstützt alle Betriebsmodelle

Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden unabhängig vom gewählten Betriebsmodell und erbringen einen Full-Service rund um die Produkte, beginnend von der Beratung und dem Customizing über Trainings bis zu Softwareentwicklung und Support. Im Falle von Server und Data Center bieten wir ausserdem den Betrieb als Managed Service an. Speziell an unserem Managed Service ist, dass der Kunde bei uns entscheiden kann, ob der Betrieb des Service auf Infrastruktur von linkyard, auf Public Cloud-Infrastruktur oder auf spezifischer Private Cloud-Infrastruktur beim Kunden oder bei einem Rechenzentrumsanbieter des Kunden erfolgt.

Welche Variante ist die richtige?

Verschiedene Aspekte sind bei der Wahl des Betriebsmodells zu berücksichtigen. Darunter fallen Überlegungen bezüglich zu realisierender Schnittstellen, Security & Compliance-Überlegungen sowie der genaue Verwendungszweck und die Benutzerzahl. Anlässlich des jähen Endes der EU-U.S. Privacy Shields, haben wir den Aspekt des Datenschutzes in der Atlassian Cloud und in den Betriebsmodellen von linkyard separat speziell beleuchtet.

--

linkyard ist ein Gold Atlassian Solution Partner mit Sitz in der Schweiz und bietet eine Full Service rund um die Produkte. Dabei bietet linkyard neben Produkt-Wissen auch ausgewiesenes Know-how in den Bereichen Management, Projektleitung (Lean/Agile und klassisch), Security, Compliance, Risk Management, Requirements Engineering oder Software Architektur. linkyard ist auf technisch anspruchsvolle Integrationen und Kunden mit besonders hohen Ansprüchen an die Informationssicherheit und den Datenschutz spezialisiert. Das Informationssicherheits-Managementsystem von linkyard ist zertifiziert nach ISO/IEC 27001:2013.

Wie können wir dir helfen?

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.