Bringing a systematic approach to project and portfolio management

Establish a powerful project management culture and support it with methods, processes and tools
ktes

What at the beginning always looks like a nicely linear planned project... changes regularly during the project implementation. The more complex the project is in a technical or social dimension, the more risks and surprises await those involved along the way. How do we create reproducible project success in all projects of the organization, and not just in one project?

Given that most organizations are currently intensively engaged in digitization and are working on many strategic initiatives, portfolio management and project management are often woefully under-supported with effective processes and tools. However, without adequate planning and prioritization, the efficient organization of work, and transparent controlling, there are significant risks that investments made will have insufficient impact. Agilization (SAFe, Scrum, etc.) and distribution of tasks in decentralized teams (central procurement, multifunctional project work, etc.) also require more systematics and discipline.

The three pillars of a successful project management culture

Which aspects are central for an optimal development of effects? From our point of view, these can be summarized in three points:

  1. Establishment and further development of a constructive change culture and the necessary skills (knowledge management with individual and organizational learning).
  2. Targeted management, prioritization and effective controlling via the strategic initiatives.
  3. Introduction and use of efficient and transparent tools and methods for project management and execution.

Project & Portfolio Management

Risk Management
Electronic status report
Budget planning
In many organizations, hardly any area of project management is based more on self-made Excel spreadsheets and Word reports that cannot be further evaluated electronically than the project's interface in portfolio management.

The motto for improving effectiveness at the portfolio management level is: create an overview and transparency. Where are which projects running with which goals and scheduled key results? Do the resources allocated really pay off on the strategic initiatives defined as focal points? Where are the main risks in the portfolio?

With relatively few, but systematically maintained and reported data on the projects, light can be shed on the situation very quickly.

Agile processing

Agile roadmapping
Agile process optimization
Scaled agility with SAFe
Agile methods promise greater efficiency and effectiveness in project execution. Scrum and Kanban have proven themselves as standard methods worldwide, especially in project management for the development of software solutions, and are now indispensable. However, the successful life of agility requires much more systematics and discipline. There is a need for further development in many organizations in three fields of action in particular:

  1. Scaling agility from a single team up to large projects as well as the organization as a whole.
  2. Embedding agile programs into the overall governance of the organization.
  3. Better integration of development and operations using DevOps technologies and microservice organizations.
The development in this subject area is very dynamic and much better tools are available today than 1-2 years ago. It is therefore worthwhile to regularly check modern solution approaches and evaluate them for their sustainable effect.

Classic project management

Gantt planning
Controlling with Earned Value Analysis
Modern Requirements Engineering
Even if the whole world is talking about agile, classic project management methods are not obsolete. Especially if the work steps for a project can be planned relatively solidly and few surprises are to be expected during the project, classic project management methods continue to make absolute sense. Very often, a hybrid project approach is also expedient, in which, for example, the IT project components are implemented in an agile manner and the organizational development (e.g., process adjustments, departmental restructuring, etc.) is planned and implemented in a classic manner.

The methodology in classic projects has proven itself in many places and is no longer developing as dynamically. However, it is still essential to apply these methods correctly and appropriately. Too many projects have failed in the past not because of the wrong methodology, but because of insufficiently trained project managers and clients. In our view, outdated tools such as Word-based specifications that have to be laboriously reassembled by hand after receiving review feedback, project plans that do not update themselves automatically when tasks are completed by the project team members, or inadequate estimation procedures and a lack of performance time recording in the project are also obsolete.

How can we help?

Most organizations have unused potential for improvement in project management. Often, this potential cannot be solved by isolated measures such as methodology training alone, but requires a holistic approach. linkyard as a specialist in the management of change and IT projects is ideally suited to support customers with services in the following areas:

  1. Introduction of processes and procedures in project management and project governance.
  2. Training of managers and project staff.
  3. Provide experienced external project managers and business analysts.
  4. Provision, adaptation and operation of tools for project work.
  5. Coaching, project support and external controlling.

Articles on this topic

Your contact

Stefan Haller | Managing Partner

Systematik in das Projekt- und Portfoliomanagement bringen

Eine leistungsfähige Projektmanagement-Kultur etablieren und mit Methoden, Prozessen und Werkzeugen unterstützen
ktes

Was zu Beginn immer wie ein schön linear durchgeplantes Vorhaben aussieht... verändert sich während der Projektdurchführung regelmässig. Je komplexer das Projekt in technischer oder sozialer Dimension ist, desto mehr Risiken und Überraschungen warten auf die Beteiligten unterwegs. Wie schaffen wir reproduzierbaren Projekterfolg in allen Projekten der Organisation, und das nicht nur in einem Projekt?

Angesichts dessen, dass sich die meisten Organisationen aktuell intensiv mit der Digitalisierung befassen und viele strategische Initiativen bearbeiten, wird das Portfoliomanagement und das Projektmanagement oft kläglich mit effektiven Prozessen und Werkzeugen unterstützt. Doch ohne angemessene Planung und Priorisierung, die effiziente Arbeitsorganisation sowie ein transparentes Controlling bestehen bedeutende Risiken, dass getätigte Investitionen nur ungenügend Wirkung entfalten. Auch die Agilisierung (SAFe, Scrum usw.) und Verteilung von Aufgaben in dezentralen Teams (zentrale Beschaffung, multifunktionale Projektarbeit usw.) erfordert mehr Systematik und Disziplin.

Die drei Säulen einer erfolgreichen Projektmanagement-Kultur

Welche Aspekte sind zentral für eine optimale Wirkungsentfaltung? Aus unserer Sicht können diese in drei Punkte zusammengefasst werden:

  1. Aufbau und Weiterentwicklung einer konstruktiven Veränderungskultur und der dazu notwendigen Fähigkeiten (Knowledge Management mit individuellem und organisationalem Lernen).
  2. Zielgerichtete Steuerung, Priorisierung und wirksames Controlling über die strategischen Initiativen.
  3. Einführung und Nutzung von effizienten und transparenten Werkzeugen und Methoden für die Projektsteuerung und -abwicklung.

Projekt- & Portfoliomanagement

Risikomanagement
Elektronischer Statusbericht
Budgetplanung
In vielen Organisationen basiert kaum ein Bereich des Projektwesens mehr auf selbstgebastelten Excel-Spreadsheets und nicht weiter elektronisch auswertbaren Wordberichten als die Schnittstelle des Projekts in Portfoliomanagement.

Das Motto zur Verbesserung der Effektivität auf Stufe Portfoliomanagement lautet: Übersicht und Transparenz schaffen. Wo laufen welche Projekte mit welchen Zielen und terminierten Schlüsselergebnissen? Zahlen die bereitgestellten Ressourcen wirklich auf die als Schwerpunkte festgelegten, strategischen Initiativen ein? Wo befinden sich die Hauptrisiken des Portfolios?

Mit relativ wenigen, aber systematisch gepflegten und rapportierten Daten zu den Projekten, lässt sich sehr rasch Licht ins Dunkel bringen.

Agile Abwicklung

Agiles Roadmapping
Agile Prozessoptimierung
Skalierte Agilität mit SAFe
Agile Methoden versprechen eine höhere Effizienz und Effektivität bei der Projektabwicklung. Scrum und Kanban haben sich besonders im Projektmanagement bei der Entwicklung von Softwarelösungen als Standardmethoden weltweit bewährt und sind nicht mehr wegzudenken. Das erfolgreiche Leben der Agilität bedingt jedoch wesentlich mehr Systematik und Disziplin. Insbesondere in drei Handlungsfeldern besteht in vielen Organisationen der Bedarf zur Weiterentwicklung:

  1. Die Skalierung der Agilität von einem einzelnen Team hinauf auf grosse Vorhaben sowie die Organisation als Ganzes.
  2. Die Einbettung agiler Programme in die übergeordnete Governance der Organisation.
  3. Die bessere Integration von Entwicklungs- und Betriebsabläufen mittels DevOps-Technologien und Microservice-Organisationen.
Die Entwicklung in diesem Themenbereich verläuft sehr dynamisch und es stehen heute wesentlich bessere Werkzeuge zur Verfügung als noch vor 1-2 Jahren. Es lohnt sich daher regelmässig moderne Lösungsansätze zu prüfen und auf ihre nachhaltige Wirkung zu bewerten.

Klassische Projektabwicklung

Gantt-Planung
Controlling mit der Earned Value Analyse
Modernes Requirements Engineering
Auch wenn alle Welt von Agil spricht: klassische Projektmanagement-Methoden haben nicht ausgedient. Besonders wenn die Arbeitsschritte für ein Vorhaben voraussichtlich relativ solide durchgeplant werden können und wenig Überraschungen während des Projekts zu erwarten sind, sind klassische Projektmanagement-Methoden weiterhin absolut sinnvoll. Sehr oft ist auch ein hybrides Projektvorgehen zielführend, in der beispielsweise die IT-Projektbestandteile agil realisiert werden und die organisatorische Weiterentwicklung (z.B. Prozessanpassungen, Abteilungs-Restrukturierungen usw.) klassisch geplant und umgesetzt werden.

Die Methodik in klassischen Projekten hat sich vielerorts bewährt und entwickelt sich nicht mehr so dynamisch weiter. Wesentlich ist jedoch weiterhin die korrekte und angemessene Anwendung dieser Methoden. Zu viele Projekte sind in der Vergangenheit nicht an der falschen Methodik, sondern an nicht ausreichend ausgebildeten Projektleitenden und Auftraggebenden gescheitert. Ausgedient haben aus unserer Sicht ausserdem veraltete Werkzeuge wie Word-basierte Spezifikationen, welche nach der Entgegennahme von Reviewfeedback mühselig von Hand wieder zusammengeführt werden müssen, Projektpläne, welche sich nicht bei Erledigung von Aufgaben durch die Projektmitarbeitenden selbstständig aktualisieren oder ungenügende Schätzverfahren und fehlende Leistungszeiterfassung im Projekt.

Wie können wir helfen?

Die meisten Organisationen haben ungenutztes Verbesserungspotential im Projektwesen. Oft lässt sich dieses Potential nicht nur durch isolierte Massnahmen wie nur eine Methodik-Schulung alleine lösen, sondern bedingt ein gesamtheitliches Vorgehen. linkyard als Spezialistin im Management von Veränderungs- und IT-Projekten ist bestens geeignet um Kunden mit Leistungen in folgenden Bereichen zu unterstützen:

  1. Einführung von Prozessen und Verfahren im Projektmangement und der Projekt-Governance.
  2. Schulung von Führungskräften und Projektmitarbeitenden.
  3. Bereitstellen von erfahrenen externen Projektleitenden und Business Analysten.
  4. Bereitstellung, Adaptierung und Betrieb von Tools für die Projektarbeit.
  5. Coaching, Projektbegleitung und externes Controlling.

Artikel zu diesem Thema

Dein Kontakt

Stefan Haller | Managing Partner