Responsive ITSM

Put the customer in the center

Customer and service orientation
Responsive ITSM means for us:

- customer-centric processes before exact mapping of IT structures

- preventive measures before reactive incident management

- rich conversation before digitalized "correspondence" (ticketing)
Gears illustrate a process that is as customer-oriented as possible.

Customer-centric processes

ITSM systems are procured by IT organizations. We find that often the end customer that the ITSM organization wants to serve is too superficially involved in the design of the system. For example, service catalogs are structured precisely based on the detailed technical services as delivered by the ITSM organization. But it would be better to ask, as a first priority, which services the customer wants to access individually. We recommend effective stakeholder management in implementation projects and applying user-centric methods such as customer journey mapping to ensure a high-quality customer experience also to internally delivered IT services for the benefit of the business.

Preventive measures

How can you become proactive? The key is to make ITSM data-driven. Only with a well-developed sensor system is it possible to recreate the quality of the service perceived by the customer in everyday life.

In day-to-day ITSM, the relevant early indicators are often missing, which would make it possible to act in time on problems that are building up. The figure on the right shows a single example indicator. If, on the other hand, the IT professionals' dashboard looked like the figure below, they would immediately know which problems that have not yet been reported should be addressed.

Rich conversation

Setting up an ITSM usually means introducing a ticketing system. Systems such as ServiceNow or Jira Service Desk make a significant contribution to transparent and controllable ITSM. A major limitation of most ticketing systems, however, is that the communication pattern between end users and IT as well as between the various support level managers resembles an "exchange of letters" between two offices.

It therefore makes sense to supplement the ticketing tool with digital rooms in which a chat-based conversation can be conducted with the active participation of all necessary specialists. They have the great advantage that customers immediately feel that someone is taking care of the problem and initial queries can be answered immediately without delay.

Linking ticketing with other communication channels enables tasks to be completed more quickly and in a more targeted manner.

Our toolbox: "best of breed" solution components

Toolbox: Status Information, Ticketing Portal, Chat Rooms, Alarming, Knowledge Management, Asset Management, Project Management, Time Reporting, Service Monitoring, User Device Monitoring

Frontend Tools: Interaction with end users and IT teams

The frontend tools provide the customer interface of the ITSM.

The Status Information component is used to communicate service status to end users. This includes communicating availability constraints, maintenance announcements, etc. In the context of business continuity management, this component is used to ensure that information is provided even if all other communication channels fail. Our preferred product for this is statuspage.

In chat rooms, end users can be provided with uncomplicated support in a conversation ("conversational ticketing"). Depending on the customer journey concept, the chat-based interaction can be initiated either directly by the end user or by IT. We prefer to work with Halp, Chatlio and Slackif a cloud solution involving US companies can be used, or with Mattermost and jitsi if an operation in Switzerland is required. If Microsoft Teams is available, integration is obvious.

The Ticketing Portal allows end users to submit and track their service requests. This includes the provision of order forms, their approval by the relevant departments and the processing of the service provision. We prefer to work with Jira Service Desk or supplement Jira with our own portal development if there are special requirements for the design or integration of the portal.

Backend Tools: Data-driven ITSM and Process Support

The goal of Knowledge Management is to ensure that issues can be resolved more quickly. On the one hand, relevant troubleshooting articles can be displayed to end users based on keywords when tickets are created, with the goal that they either solve the problem themselves or at least provide the relevant information to describe the problem. On the other hand, it also serves to transfer know-how through the support chain (2nd level to 1st level, etc.). We work with Confluence.

In Asset Management, the components and their properties for which the ITSM provides services are managed in the sense of an inventory. This information is then read when tickets are created or to determine dependencies when solving problems. Ideally, the information is not only entered manually, but is also supplemented as far as possible by automated service or user device monitoring. We prefer to use Insight - Asset Management for Jira.

Alarming is used to summon the employees required to solve a problem according to the stored shift plan or to trigger escalation chains as soon as certain criteria occur. For example, shortly before the expiry of a guaranteed SLA response time or in the event of a service failure. We prefer to work with OpsGenie.

Service monitoring is used to monitor the status of IT services. In particular, this includes checking service availability (uptime), performance (response times) and resource usage (such as disk space, RAM, etc.) for capacity management. In this area For rather simpler problems we like to use StatusCake and Prometheus. However, experience has shown that the problems in service monitoring are very heterogeneous.

User Device Monitoring deals with the monitoring of PC workstations used by end users. Traditionally, thanks to software distribution tools such as Microsoft SCCM, IT has good information about the target state of the end devices, e.g. which software should be installed. Proactive management of devices only becomes possible when accurate information about the current state can be evaluated across the organization. Frequent crashes, decreasing storage space, declining performance, etc. can thus be detected and dealt with before the end user creates a ticket, which then has to be resolved under time pressure. Endpoint monitoring is particularly relevant in environments with less management control by IT (Bring Your Own Device, school IT, software development, etc.) to ensure an appropriate level of endpoint security.

Project Management is used to handle projects or more complex operational processes that cannot be adequately managed by individual tasks. In this area we work with Jira Softwarewhich is widely used for software projects, but can also be used for any organizational and IT projects.

The time worked is reported and evaluated in Time Reporting. In this area we prefer to use Tempo Timesheets in this area.

Our options for deployment

Atlassian Cloud

The solution can be implemented on the cloud solution operated by Atlassian from the USA.

linkyard cloud

The solution can be implemented on the cloud solution operated by linkyard in Switzerland.

On Premise with Support

The solution can be implemented on systems provided by the customer. The operation is done by the customer, linkyard provides support if required.

Managed Service on Private Cloud

The solution can be implemented and operated on the private cloud or infrastructure provided by the customer. The IT operator of the customer takes over the operation of the infrastructure, linkyard takes care of application operation and maintenance.

Your contact

Stefan Haller | Managing Partner

Responsive ITSM

Stelle den Kunden in den Mittelpunkt

Kunden- und Serviceorientierung
Responsive ITSM bedeutet für uns:

- kundenzentrierte Abläufe vor exakter Abbildung der IT-Strukturen

- präventive Massnahmen vor reaktivem Incident Management

- reichhaltige Konversation vor digitalisiertem «Briefverkehr» (Ticketing)
Zahnräder illustrieren einen möglichst Kundenorientierten Prozess.

Kundenzentrierte Abläufe

ITSM-Systeme werden von IT Organisationen beschafft. Wir stellen fest, dass häufig der Endkunde, dem die ITSM-Organisation dienen will, zu oberflächlich bei der Ausgestaltung des Systems einbezogen wird. Beispielsweise werden Service-Kataloge genau anhand der technischen Detailservices strukturiert, wie die ITSM-Organisation diese erbringt. Doch es wäre besser in erster Priorität zu fragen, welche Services der Kunde einzeln abrufen möchte. Wir empfehlen, in Einführungsprojekten ein wirkungsvolles Stakeholder-Management zu betreiben und Benutzer-zentrierte Methoden wie Customer Journey Mapping zur Sicherstellung eines hochwertigen Kundenerlebnisses auch auf intern erbrachte IT Leistungen zu Gunsten des Business zu übertragen.

Präventive Massnahmen

Wie kann man proaktiv werden? Der Schlüssel liegt darin, das ITSM Data-driven zu gestalten. Erst mit einer gut ausgebauten Sensorik wird es möglich, die Qualität des beim Kunden wahrgenommenen Service im Alltag nachzuempfinden.

Im ITSM-Alltag fehlen oft die relevanten Frühindikatoren, welche es ermöglichen würden, rechtzeitig auf sich aufbauende Probleme einzuwirken. Die Abbildung rechts zeigt dazu einen einzelnen Beispielindikator. Würde dagegen das Dashboard der IT Fachkräfte wie in folgender Abbildung aussehen, wüssten sie sofort, welche noch nicht gemeldeten Probleme angegangen werden sollten.

Reichhaltige Konversation

Der Aufbau eines ITSM bedeutet in der Regel die Einführung eines Ticketing-Systems. Systeme wie ServiceNow oder Jira Service Desk leisten einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu einem transparenten und steuerbaren ITSM. Eine wesentliche Limitation der meisten Ticketing-Systeme ist jedoch, dass das Kommunikationsmuster zwischen Endbenutzer und IT sowie zwischen den verschiedenen Support Level-Zuständigen einem «Briefwechsel» zwischen jeweils zwei Stellen gleichen.

Sinnvollerweise ergänzt man das Ticketing-Tool daher um digitale Räume, in denen Chat-basiert gemeinsam eine Konversation unter aktiver Beteiligung aller erforderlichen Spezialisten geführt werden kann. Sie haben den grossen Vorteil, dass die Kunden sofort spüren, dass sich jemand um das Problem kümmert und erste Rückfragen sofort ohne Zeitverzögerung beantwortet werden können.

Die Verbindung von Ticketing mit weiteren Kommunikationskanälen ermöglicht die raschere und zielführendere Abwicklung von Aufgaben.

Unser Werkzeugkasten: «best of breed» Lösungskomponenten

Werkzeugkasten: Status Information, Ticketing Portal, Chat Rooms, Alarming, Knowledge Management, Asset Management, Project Management, Time Reporting, Service Monitoring, User Device Monitoring

Frontend Tools: Interaktion mit den Endbenutzern und IT-Teams

Die Frontend Tools stellen die Kundenschnittstelle des ITSM sicher.

Die Komponente Status Information dient der Kommunikation des Service-Zustands an die Endbenutzer. Dies umfasst die Kommunikation von Einschränkungen der Verfügbarkeit, der Ankündigung von Wartungsarbeiten usw. Im Rahmen des Business Continuity Managements wird über diese Komponente die Information auch dann sichergestellt, wenn alle anderen Kommunikationskanäle ausfallen. Unser bevorzugtes Produkt dafür ist statuspage.

In Chat Rooms kann den Endbenutzern unkompliziert Support in einem Gespräch geführt werden («conversational ticketing»). Die Initiierung der chat-basierten Interaktion kann dabei je nach verfolgtem Customer Journey-Konzept entweder direkt durch den Endbenutzer oder durch die IT angestossen werden. Wir arbeiten bevorzugt mit Halp, Chatlio und Slack, wenn eine Cloud-Lösung mit Beteiligung von US-Firmen eingesetzt werden kann, oder mit Mattermost und jitsi bei Erfordernis eines Betriebs in der Schweiz. Wenn Microsoft Teams vorhanden ist, liegt eine Integration nahe.

Im Ticketing Portal können die Endbenutzer ihre Serviceanfragen stellen und nachverfolgen. Dazu gehört die Bereitstellung von Bestellformularen, deren Bewilligung durch die zuständigen Stellen und die Abwicklung der Leistungserbringung. Wir arbeiten bevorzugt mit Jira Service Desk oder ergänzen Jira zusätzlich um unsere Portal-Eigenentwicklung, falls besondere Anforderungen an die Gestaltung oder Integration des Portals vorliegen.

Backend Tools: Data-driven ITSM und Prozessunterstützung

Mit dem Knowledge Management wird das Ziel verfolgt, dass Probleme schneller gelöst werden können. Einerseits kann den Endbenutzern bei der Erstellung von Tickets stichwortbasiert relevante Troubleshooting-Artikel eingeblendet werden mit dem Ziel, dass sie das Problem entweder selbst lösen oder zumindest die relevanten Angaben zur Problembeschreibung mitliefern. Andererseits dient es auch dem Know-how Transfer durch die Supportkette (2nd Level zu 1st Level usw.). Wir arbeiten mit Confluence.

Im Asset Management werden im Sinne eines Inventars die Komponenten und deren Eigenschaften verwaltet, für die das ITSM Leistungen erbringt. Diese Informationen werden dann bei der Erstellung von Tickets oder zur Feststellung von Abhängigkeiten bei der Problemlösung ausgelesen. Idealerweise werden die Informationen nicht nur manuell eingepflegt, sondern soweit möglich automatisiert durch das Service oder User Device Monitoring ergänzt. Wir verwenden bevorzugt Insight – Asset Management for Jira.

Über das Alarming werden die zur Lösung eines Problems erforderlichen Mitarbeiter je nach hinterlegtem Schichtplan aufgeboten oder Eskalationsketten angesteuert, sobald bestimmte Kriterien eintreten. Beispielsweise kurz vor Ablauf einer garantierten SLA Reaktionszeit oder bei Ausfall eines Service. Wir arbeiten bevorzugt mit OpsGenie.

Das Service Monitoring dient der Überwachung des Zustands der IT Services. Dazu gehört insbesondere die Prüfung der Service-Verfügbarkeit (Uptime), der Performance (Antwortzeiten) sowie der Resourcenverwendung (wie Disk-Space, RAM usw.) für das Capacity Management. In diesem Bereich Für eher einfachere Problemstellungen verwenden wir in diesem Bereich gerne StatusCake und Prometheus. Die Problemstellungen im Service Monitoring sind jedoch erfahrungsgemäss sehr heterogen.

Das User Device Monitoring beschäftigt sich mit der Überwachung der von den Endbenutzern verwendeten PC-Arbeitsplätze. Traditionell verfügt die IT dank Software-Verteilungswerkzeugen wie Microsoft SCCM über gute Informationen über den Sollzustand der Endgeräte, z.B. welche Software installiert sein sollte. Ein proaktives Management der Geräte wird  erst möglich, wenn genaue Informationen über den Ist-Zustand über die Organisation ausgewertet werden kann. Häufige Abstürze, abnehmender Speicherplatz, abnehmende Performance usw. können so detektiert und bearbeitet werden, bevor der Endbenutzer ein Ticket erstellt und dieses dann unter Zeitdruck gelöst werden muss. Die Überwachung der Endgeräte ist ganz besonders relevant in Umgebungen mit geringerer Management-Kontrolle durch die IT (Bring Your Own Device, Schulinformatik, Softwareentwicklung usw.) damit auf ein angemessenes Sicherheitsniveau der Endgeräte hingewirkt werden kann.

Das Project Management dient der Abwicklung von Projekten oder komplexeren betrieblichen Abläufen, welche nicht durch einzelne Tasks ausreichend gemanaged werden können. Wir arbeiten in diesem Bereich mit Jira Software, welches besonders für Software Projekte weit verbreitet ist, aber auch für beliebige Organisations- und IT-Projekte eingesetzt werden kann.

Die geleistete Arbeitszeit wird im Time Reporting rapportiert und ausgewertet. Wir setzen in diesem Bereich bevorzugt Tempo Timesheets ein.

Unsere Optionen für das Deployment

Atlassian Cloud

Die Lösung kann auf der von Atlassian aus den USA heraus betriebenen Cloud-Lösung realisiert werden.

linkyard cloud

Die Lösung kann auf der von linkyard in der Schweiz betriebenen Cloud-Lösung realisiert werden.

On Premise mit Support

Die Lösung kann auf vom Kunden bereitgestellten Systemen realisiert werden. Der Betrieb erfolgt durch den Kunden, linkyard leistet bei Bedarf Support.

Managed Service auf Private Cloud

Die Lösung kann auf der vom Kunden bereitgestellten Private Cloud oder Infrastruktur von linkyard realisiert und betrieben werden. Der IT Betreiber des Kunden übernimmt den Betrieb der Infrastruktur, linkyard sorgt für Applikationsbetrieb und -pflege.

Dein Kontakt

Stefan Haller | Managing Partner